Broken Promises Exhibit

June10
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

‘Broken Promises‘ is a travelling exhibit from the Nikkei National Museum and Cultural Centre.

Grounded in research from Landscapes of Injustice – a 7 year multi-disciplinary, multi-institutional, community engaged project, this exhibit explores the dispossession of Japanese Canadians in the 1940s. It illuminates the loss of home and the struggle for justice of one racially marginalized community. The story unfolds by following seven narrators. Learn about life for Japanese Canadians in Canada before war, the administration of their lives during and after war ends, and how legacies of dispossession continue to this day.

Upcoming Dates:

  • Tuesday, August 16
  • Wednesday, August 17
  • Thursday, August 18
  • Friday, August 19
  • Saturday, August 20
  • Tuesday, August 23
  • Wednesday, August 24
  • Thursday, August 25
  • Friday, August 26
  • Saturday, August 27
  • Tuesday, August 30
  • Wednesday, August 31
  • Thursday, September 1
  • Friday, September 2
  • Saturday, September 3