McMillan Arts Centre Presents: The Tale of One Urban Creek

July02
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

In the tradition of creating installation art with a message, the OCAC and the McMillan Arts Centre are excited to present the Summer 2022 exhibit (July 2 - Aug. 28)! The Tale of One Urban Creek is the exploration in glass, photography, acrylic and steel art mediums of the beauty and fragile nature of our special urban places. Focusing the artistic narrative on Parksville’s Shelly Creek we can follow it from its source in Errington farmland, flowing past Little Mountain, to its confluence with the Englishman River just below the Martindale Pond.

From cathedral-like images of Shelly Creek filling the windows in the beautiful Concert Gallery, three incredible painted canvasses providing background for a glass and steel cutthroat trout population, huge aerial map of Shelly Creek populated with photographic images of the flora and fauna of the area, to a jaw-dropping centrepiece – a glass simulated waterfall into a rain garden, incorporating colour and light – this exhibit promises to be a spectacular summer experience.

Upcoming Dates:

  • Tuesday, August 16
  • Wednesday, August 17
  • Thursday, August 18
  • Friday, August 19
  • Saturday, August 20
  • Sunday, August 21
  • Tuesday, August 23
  • Wednesday, August 24
  • Thursday, August 25
  • Friday, August 26
  • Saturday, August 27
  • Sunday, August 28